Today I tried an eatery that has become a staple for the Central Business District work force: The Store. The menu is pretty simple: soups, salads, sandwiches and burgers, plus a daily special! The Store serves breakfast and lunch. Its only open until 2:30 in the afternoon.

I walked in at 2pm today and the restaurant was empty except for one other single diner, who was seated at a table reading something on his Kindle. I perused the menu and decided to order The Deal. The Deal is a cup of soup, which turned out to be a bowl and a half a sandwich, either the BLT or the Classic. There are several options for the Classic including turkey, ham, and tuna fish. I opted for a cup of potato soup and half a tuna sandwich on toasted sourdough bread. Soup was hot and yummy. My sandwich came dressed with lettuce and tomato. The tuna was pretty standard and could have used more mayo. I also ordered a diet coke, which came in a can with a glass of ice on the side and an order of sweet potato french fries. The fries were a little soggy and I wondered if they had been sitting for a bit. I’ll remember to order them extra crispy next time.

The best part of this meal was that it was a fantastically inexpensive! My total was just over $10 and I threw a few dollars in the tip jar. I will certainly entertain lunch here again and I’m looking forward to trying their blue cheeseburger!

The Store is basically a sit down deli. I ordered at the counter and choose a table. Someone brought my order over to me, but I imagine that when it is busy you need to pick up your own food. When I finished the staff was busy getting ready to close–someone was mopping behind the counter–which is always a good sign and most of the rest of the staff had disappeared. I didn’t see anywhere designated to put my dirty baskets so I brought them over to the bar.

The every day special, in addition to the daily special, is shrimp and grits, which I have heard wonderful things about–I just wasn’t in the mood today! If you work in the CBD and haven’t discovered this gem on Gravier St just off of Carondelet-I suggest you give it a try!

