Last night I had my second recent meal at MILA.  This time I sat at the bar.  Why?  Because my friend Cassie was behind it!  I really just stopped in for a glass of wine, but decided to have dinner as well.  I haven’t been posting lately because I’m on a low carb diet and have found that eating out is a bit of a struggle.  I’m happy to report that I had no problem finding something to eat at Mila and will be continuing to try and find restaurants that will accommodate me.  You should be seeing lots of new posts!

There were several appetizers to try, but the scallop entree came recommended so that was what I decided to try!  On a previous trip I had the Beef Tartare appetizer.  It was absolutely wonderful.  The egg was perfectly cooked and the beef was well seasoned and flavorful!

The kitchen provided me with a no carb amuse of goat cheese mousse wrapped in cucumber topped with mustard seed and olive oil!  It was very tasty as well as being thoughtful!  I truly appreciate kitchens that are willing to work with dietary needs!

Next up was my main course, which I paired with a French Chard that was recommended.  It was lovely and I was beginning my second glass when the food arrived.  There were three scallops arranged in a bowl on top of sunchokes and mushrooms and a cream foam.  The scallops were perfectly cooked and I just love sunchokes.  The entire plate worked well together, sauce, veg and seafood!  It is something I will return to eat again, and again!  I have to say that I am consistently impressed with Mila!

Mila is located in the Renaissance Pere Marquette Hotel on Common Street.  The Chefs are a married couple AND James Beard Award winners!  One hails from Mississppi and the other Louisiana–hence the name Mi-La.  They offer full dinner service at the bar and in the dining room.  Appetizers are also available at the bar in the lobby of the hotel.  The chef offers a nightly tasting menu with wine pairings, to which I can attest is a lovely meal and a good value!

